Disclosure Statement: This site contains affiliate links, which means that I may receive a commission if you make a purchase using these links. As an eBay Partner, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Identify when page content has changed

jc4golf

Identify when page content has changed

Post by jc4golf »

I'm using a website which adds content to the page when a button is clicked. I'm clicking that button programmatically using Javascript, but I would like to know how to detect that the added content has been added to the page.
salvadordf

Re: Identify when page content has changed

Post by salvadordf »

Hi,

I'm not a JavaScript expert but perhaps you can use a MutationObserver.
CEF doesn't have any event to detect document changes, only loading state changes.
jc4golf

Post by jc4golf »

Yes, that could work if I can figure out how to implement it. Thank you Salvador.
jc4golf

Post by jc4golf »

I've tried, using JavaScript Extensions, to add a MutationObserver to the page I'm manipulating to get back a response when the button in question is clicked (which should add nodes to the element being observed). I can't get it to work, most likely because the JavaScript is not formed correctly. That JavaScript is:

TempJSCode := '(function () { ' +
' let list = document.getElementById("updCourseListing"); ' +
' function log(mutations) { ' +
' for (let mutation of mutations) { ' +
' if (mutation.type === "childList") { ' +
' var ret = mutation.addednodes; return ret; ' +
' } ' +
' } ' +
' } ' +
' let mutationObserver = new MutationObserver(log); ' +
' myextension.mutationobserver(mutationObserver.observe(list, {' +
' childList: true, subtree: true ' +
' };) ' +
'})(); ';

I've tried various versions of this, but to no avail. I don't know where else to look.
salvadordf

Post by salvadordf »

Try making a simpler version of the mutationobserver that adds a console message if it detects something.