Page 4 of 5

Re: How to set proxy settings ... especially tor network

Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:28 pm
by snoop
salvadordf wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:33 am As I commented in this thread, that's how CEF3 works and I can't do anything about it :
https://www.briskbard.com/forum/viewtop ... rt=10#p754

If you need that feature you can request it in the CEF3 project website :
https://bitbucket.org/chromiumembedded/cef
really really sad...
I have one more proxy-related problem
Some of my users have it

I dont know how to describe it correctly. Proxy sometimes does not activates fully (?)
What does it mean:
Lets take one proxy. Proxy is 100% correct and works in browser or using programs like proxy switcher. And www.site.com (example) works in browser with this proxy
it displays correct proxy ip on check-ip sites both in usual browser or in my program
BUT
some sites work in browser and not in my program. Like you try to access them without proxy. So, www.site.com is blocked in program. Also, some users say it depends on internet provider. How is it possible when ip-checking sites always show correct proxy ip? Really weird!
it works on my pc 100% correct, I dont have this problem... so it might be hard to catch.. but something is wrong


Also, I have another problem in my other program. Its monitoring one site, which has autorefresh feature
after ~day or 2 of non-stop working it raises javascript error 504 alert from site. After that browser stops working correctly. I cannot load any other pages so I need to restart my app. Any ideas?

Re: How to set proxy settings ... especially tor network

Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:30 am
by salvadordf
snoop wrote: Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:28 pm I dont know how to describe it correctly. Proxy sometimes does not activates fully (?)
What does it mean:
Lets take one proxy. Proxy is 100% correct and works in browser or using programs like proxy switcher. And www.site.com (example) works in browser with this proxy
it displays correct proxy ip on check-ip sites both in usual browser or in my program
BUT
some sites work in browser and not in my program. Like you try to access them without proxy. So, www.site.com is blocked in program. Also, some users say it depends on internet provider. How is it possible when ip-checking sites always show correct proxy ip? Really weird!
it works on my pc 100% correct, I dont have this problem... so it might be hard to catch.. but something is wrong
That's weird...
Perhaps the website administrator is blocking some users depending on the "browser fingerprint".
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Device_fingerprint
https://www.networkworld.com/article/28 ... erase.html
snoop wrote: Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:28 pm Also, I have another problem in my other program. Its monitoring one site, which has autorefresh feature
after ~day or 2 of non-stop working it raises javascript error 504 alert from site. After that browser stops working correctly. I cannot load any other pages so I need to restart my app. Any ideas?
Create a "watchdog" application that launches your main app if it's not running. Then modify your main app to close it when a 504 is received.

Re: How to set proxy settings ... especially tor network

Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:54 pm
by snoop
salvadordf wrote: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:30 am That's weird...
Perhaps the website administrator is blocking some users depending on the "browser fingerprint".
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Device_fingerprint
https://www.networkworld.com/article/28 ... erase.html
Not this, because that sites can work from my app while setting same proxy outside TChromium (using programs like proxy switcher or proxifier) or using VPN

salvadordf wrote: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:30 am Create a "watchdog" application that launches your main app if it's not running. Then modify your main app to close it when a 504 is received.

Thx this is good idea, but how can I catch this error? It raised javascript alert message from site. How can I see it?

Re: How to set proxy settings ... especially tor network

Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:56 am
by salvadordf
snoop wrote: Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:54 pm
salvadordf wrote: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:30 am That's weird...
Perhaps the website administrator is blocking some users depending on the "browser fingerprint".
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Device_fingerprint
https://www.networkworld.com/article/28 ... erase.html
Not this, because that sites can work from my app while setting same proxy outside TChromium (using programs like proxy switcher or proxifier) or using VPN
If your application shows the right external IP when that error happens then it's probably a network error buried in Chromium code or there's some problem with those Internet service providers.

However, if your application shows a wrong external IP when that error happens then the browser has "forgotten" the proxy settings for some reason. In this case you can add a button that calls TChromium.UpdatePreferences to set the proxy settings again but it would be helpful if the users can give you a detailed description of what they were doing to fix this problem.
snoop wrote: Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:54 pm
salvadordf wrote: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:30 am Create a "watchdog" application that launches your main app if it's not running. Then modify your main app to close it when a 504 is received.
Thx this is good idea, but how can I catch this error? It raised javascript alert message from site. How can I see it?
To catch javascript errors you have to modify the javascript code in that page. Search "javascript catch http error" in google for more details.

If that error also happens in the browser then there are several TChromium events that give you the HTTP status in a parameter :
  • TChromium.OnLoadEnd : httpStatusCode
  • TChromium.OnResourceRedirect : response.status
  • TChromium.OnResourceResponse : response.status
  • TChromium.OnResourceLoadComplete : response.status

Re: How to set proxy settings ... especially tor network

Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 5:36 pm
by snoop
salvadordf wrote: Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:56 am
snoop wrote: Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:54 pm
salvadordf wrote: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:30 am That's weird...
Perhaps the website administrator is blocking some users depending on the "browser fingerprint".
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Device_fingerprint
https://www.networkworld.com/article/28 ... erase.html
Not this, because that sites can work from my app while setting same proxy outside TChromium (using programs like proxy switcher or proxifier) or using VPN
If your application shows the right external IP when that error happens then it's probably a network error buried in Chromium code or there's some problem with those Internet service providers.

However, if your application shows a wrong external IP when that error happens then the browser has "forgotten" the proxy settings for some reason. In this case you can add a button that calls TChromium.UpdatePreferences to set the proxy settings again but it would be helpful if the users can give you a detailed description of what they were doing to fix this problem.
snoop wrote: Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:54 pm
salvadordf wrote: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:30 am Create a "watchdog" application that launches your main app if it's not running. Then modify your main app to close it when a 504 is received.
Thx this is good idea, but how can I catch this error? It raised javascript alert message from site. How can I see it?
To catch javascript errors you have to modify the javascript code in that page. Search "javascript catch http error" in google for more details.

If that error also happens in the browser then there are several TChromium events that give you the HTTP status in a parameter :
  • TChromium.OnLoadEnd : httpStatusCode
  • TChromium.OnResourceRedirect : response.status
  • TChromium.OnResourceResponse : response.status
  • TChromium.OnResourceLoadComplete : response.status
Hello. IP is CORRECT! and thats the problem. ANy ideas?
Also, app is crashing sometimes, can this be also error buried just in CEF? Because looks like 1 or 2 sites causing this more often. can you check them somehow if I link them in PM?

Re: How to set proxy settings ... especially tor network

Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:06 pm
by salvadordf
Send the addresses by PM but I'm very busy these days and I can't tell you when I'll take a look.

Re: How to set proxy settings ... especially tor network

Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 10:31 pm
by snoop
I sent it, thank you. But what about showing correct proxy IP but not working? This is still serious problem

Re: How to set proxy settings ... especially tor network

Posted: Mon Apr 12, 2021 6:18 pm
by lunaboona
Hello!

I know this thread is quite old, but I'm trying to set the proxy settings in my program and I'm wondering where CEF_PROXYTYPE_FIXED_SERVERS comes from (as in, what do I need to import in order for it to work)?

Re: How to set proxy settings ... especially tor network

Posted: Mon Apr 12, 2021 6:49 pm
by salvadordf
Hi,

The MiniBrowser demo has all the code you need to configure the proxy server.

Run that demo and click on the upper-right button with 3 lines to show some options. Then select the Preferences... option.

Re: How to set proxy settings ... especially tor network

Posted: Mon Apr 12, 2021 6:58 pm
by salvadordf
Read this to know all the details about the proxy preferences :
https://www.chromium.org/administrators/policy-list-3#Proxy