Disclosure Statement: This site contains affiliate links, which means that I may receive a commission if you make a purchase using these links. As an eBay Partner, I earn from qualifying purchases.

CEF4 is thread safe? Or can be implemented?

salvadordf

Re: CEF4 is thread safe? Or can be implemented?

Post by salvadordf »

Hi,

I have no experience running CEF4Delphi inside a web service.

I guess it should be possible to use it if you create GlobalCEFApp once in the main service process and then create a bunch of TChromium in OSR mode to be reused by the web service threads.
salvadordf

Re: CEF4 is thread safe? Or can be implemented?

Post by salvadordf »

This is "unexplored territory" for me because I've never used CEF4Delphi or any other web browser component inside a web service.

All CEF based applications have these limitations :
  • 1. CEF can only be initialized once per process : This means that GlobalCEFApp can only be created once and GlobalCEFApp.StartMainProcess can only be called once.
  • 2. In case of DLLs, plugins or things like that you need to use a different EXE for the subprocesses. I guess that a web service will need it too.
  • 3. If I remember correctly, Chromium can only create 80 browsers at the same time (I'm not 100% sure about the exact number). This is the reason why I suggested that you use a bunch of TChromium components in your case.
  • 4. Windows limits the number of subprocesses created from the main process.
  • 5. You need to use a cache directory. If you use "in-memory" cache you will easily run out of RAM.
The 3rd and 4th points are easily broken in a busy server. You need to put some limits in your server to avoid creating too many browsers and visiting too many different domains at the same time.